The Only Kind of Curry I like: Beef. Stephen is a little stale for me.

All right, so I don’t like Stephen Curry. I’m sure he’s a lovely dude as a person, but I’m a Cleveland Cavaliers fan. I am an Ohio girl, born and bred and I will support my sports teams til the day I die.

That being said, I enjoy curry in the sense that I love eating them! During cold Ohio winters, (or during our still-freezing springs) nothing tastes better than a spicy curry filled with delicious bits of tender meat and colorful vegetables. When I was pregnant with my son, all I craved was goat curry from the Indian restaurant about 10 minutes from my apartment. Had it not been for my doctor’s insistent warnings that I not indulge, I probably would have had curry at least twice a week.

My son is five months old now, though, so I am more than able to have curry whenever I please! In the interest of building my skills as a cook, however, I decided to try my hand at my own version of a curry.

I was puttering around my kitchen and realized that my boyfriend had purchased some beef that absolutely had to be cooked that day. Otherwise, it would be lost to the bacterial gods that take as their tribute the meat that our hard-earned dollars had put into the refrigerator. So I grabbed out the two pound package of meat and looked around to see what else I could cook up.

My gaze landed upon a box of whole wheat couscous that was almost gone. It had about one more meal’s worth left. Then I looked at what sort of produce was left. Tomatoes and leeks – happy day! (I despise letting anything go to waste; we waste so much food in this world. I am determined that unless it is absolutely inedible, I will find some way to make use of it. More on this in a later post.)

I snatched some spices down from my shelf: garlic salt, paprika (I LOVE this spice), chili powder, curry powder, and ginger. Yes – ginger. Ginger adds a little bit of acidity and makes other spices sing. Here’s a list for you:

Hardware: 

Wooden spoon or plastic spatula

One medium skillet

One large skillet

Software:

2 lbs. ground beef

1 tbsp. garlic salt (or to taste)

1 1/2 tsp. paprika

1 tsp. chili powder

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1 tsp. curry powder

2 medium tomatoes, or one large

1 large leek

1 scallion (optional, for garnish)

Olive oil

——–

To get yourself started, heat up a coat the bottom of a large skillet with some olive oil. Set the heat to about medium, medium-high. While the pan heats up, get your spices ready to go and open up your package of ground beef. For this recipe, I used what I had, which was two pounds. You can obviously adjust to what you or your family needs.

Once the pan is nice and hot, go ahead and start your meat browning. As that is happening, break it up with a wooden spoon or plastic spatula, just like you would do with sausage. As the meat browns, add your spices. Then leave it alone. Just let it cook. Allow the juices from the meat help dissolve the spices and come together into one beautiful liquid. While your meat cooks, sauté your leeks and tomatoes in another pan with a little butter and olive oil. Season generously with garlic salt and pepper. Once your leeks and tomatoes are nice and soft, scrape them into the pan with the meat. Mix together and allow to simmer for a few more minutes.

IMG_1667

While your meat and vegetable mixture is simmering, make your whole wheat couscous. Mine is from Trader Joe’s and cooks in exactly five minutes. Following the directions on the package, bring one cup of water to a boil, add a pinch of salt, and then add one cup of the dry couscous. Mix, and take off the heat. Cover and wait five minutes. Done!

Make a bed of couscous in a bowl and spoon your delicious curry over. Garnish with some scallions, if you so desire. Enjoy!

IMG_1668

I have dearly missed blogging and promise to keep up with you all on a much more regular basis.

Until next time, my foodie friends!

Leave a Reply

